Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?

Behavioral Health Unit"
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
Go to bottomPage: 1
TOPIC: Behavioral Health Unit"
Behavioral Health Unit" 10 Years, 4 Months ago  
Response by on 2/18/2013 10:13:53 AM

Hi there Melody! Very intriguing post!(It always is! )
I was diagnosed in October, 2007 at the ripe-old-age of 37.I had a two-month-old baby and a two & a half year-old toddler, a terrified husband and a breast pump in tow when our family schlepped to the hospital for me to be assessed for acute postpartum mania & hypergraphia.(Hypergraphia is the compulsion to write nonstop - it was very ironic to have that, as I was a freelance writer for the previosu decade and had interviewed such mental health luminaries as Dr. Kay Redfield Jamison and Dr. Martha Manning....)
So, I voluntarily admitted myself to the local "Behavioral Health Unit" (a.k. BHU, my fellow patient friend and I called it "Boo Hoo!) as I knew I was acutely manic.However, I didn't want to accept that reality full-on.I had grown up with a brilliant, Juilliard-trained, Fulbright-award-winning, Los Angeles Philharmonic-violinist Dad who had been diagnosed with bipolar one when he was 18.When I was growing up and witnessed his debilitating depressions and crazy-ass manic outbursts, he assured me that I would never "get" bipolar, or what was then called manic depression.
When I called Dad from Boo Hoo's pay phone in the locked-down ward and told him I was officially diagnosed with bp one, he cried.He felt responsible for my illness.As he was my best friend apart from my husband, I really felt like damagedgoods and like I had let everyone down, most of all, myself,replica tw steel watches, of course.